Open / Close navigation

Seven Senses

Your Guide to The Sacral Chakra

Through the Seven Senses philosophy, Dr. Erica Matluck discusses how to heal imbalances of the emotional epicenter of your health

by Erica Matluck

January 23, 2019


Have you ever experienced a health issue that made you feel ashamed? Did you have acne so severe that you skipped a party, or a cold sore that prevented you from making out with your crush? These physical issues are examples of common manifestations of an imbalanced sacral chakra. And while dysfunction in the sacral chakra does not always result in physical ailments, when it does, it often leads to feelings of shame or embarrassment in social situations or relationships. When the sacral chakra is open and healthy, you feel confident in your body and in touch with your emotions.

The sacral chakra is the second energy center to develop. It follows the root chakra, which forms from conception through age 7, and is the foundation of the subtle body. The sacral chakra forms from ages 7-14, a time in development where your feelings become increasingly important. This is why the physical ailments that result from sacral dysfunction tend to cause emotional distress, such as infertility, STIs, pelvic pain, PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome), UTIs or prostate cancer. In my practice, I see a lot of patients with these types of health issues and they usually become very emotional when talking about them.

Sacral energy fuels things that feel good; it’s the home of desire, sensuality, pleasure and creativity. When the sacral is out of balance, we have very little tolerance for discomfort, which is why sacral-related illnesses, such as a UTI or acne can be difficult to sit with for long periods of time. That discomfort can trigger old emotional patterns, which are primarily rooted in this developmental phase of life. In some cases, an imbalanced sacral chakra can manifest as a physical condition, but in other cases it simply inflames the deep emotional wounds that we haven’t yet healed.

The 7-14 year old age range is a time when relationships can profoundly impact your long-term emotional well-being. If you suspect an imbalance in your sacral chakra, it can be revealing to explore your relationships with parents, siblings, teachers and friends during that time period. If you grew up in an environment that required you to be overly communicative of your emotions to have your needs met, it could impact your ability to communicate effectively in your adult relationships. If you grew up in an environment where you had to hold back your feelings to protect yourself, you may struggle to create depth and authenticity in your adult relationships. Everyone has their own unique patterns in relationships and when those patterns are steering you away from what you want in your life, it’s a good idea to explore the sacral chakra.

Feelings and sensation are the language of the subtle body, and ultimately drive our actions, so the sacral chakra holds an important key to connecting with your energetic self. Everything we feel either drives a craving for more of it (pleasure, relaxation, joy, connection, etc.) or an aversion to it (pain, discomfort, stress, guilt, shame, etc.), and we continuously respond to that. We automatically take actions in our lives to create more pleasure and avoid pain, yet we often find ourselves in relationship patterns that feel good in the short-term, yet ultimately create pain. We repeat the same story again and again until we heal the emotional wounds of the past. Healing the sacral chakra is about moving past that craving and aversion cycle so that whatever is happening in our lives or bodies is welcome and manageable.

If you have signs of a sacral imbalance, try adding the following practices to your daily routine:

Create something that is only for you!

Be creative for 30 minutes a day without being attached to the what the final product looks like. Throw your perfectionism out the window and create simply for the sake of creativity. Draw, write, garden, paint, or come up with something you like to do, even if you don’t consider yourself to be do it well. If there is a finished product, do not share it with anyone but yourself.

Silent meditation

Take 10-20 minutes out of your day to sit in silence. Silent meditation allows you to listen inward and feel all of the sensations in your body. This practice is about feeling those sensations without acting on them. Simply notice them and let them pass by without responding to any pleasure or discomfort.



Engage in a practice of forgiveness for 10 mins a day. Close your eyes and visualize someone in your mind whom you have not yet forgiven for something. Silently say the following:

I am sorry.
I forgive you.
I love you.
Thank you.

Bonus points if you choose yourself!

Seven Senses is a monthly column where Dr. Erica Matluck, ND, NP shares insights from the Seven Senses philosophy of health. Her holistic approach draws from eastern philosophy and western medicine, and emphasizes the relationship between the physical and subtle bodies. The framework applies a unique understanding of the chakra system to gain a deeper understanding of health and illness.